God (Marriage) not Church (Wife)

Every now and then I hear something along the lines of: “I worship God in my own way” or ” Church was invented by people who wanted to make money” or some other excuse for staying away from church. It might even be that you believe your own reasoning for staying away from – or getting involved in church. This was one of the clichés that Johan addressed a while back (see this link).

You might be thinking, “Hah, I know Svetkale who never went to church because of this sinful reasoning!”. Consider this then: How involved are you in your own church? Do you get up early on Sundays and help with preparation before the service? Do you help clean up afterwards? Do you take food for the couple who recently had a baby and can’t even find the time to take a shower? (Don’t know who they are? They are the ones smelling like they need a shower.) Do you pray for the people in your church? Do you talk to the new visitor? Or are you just riding the wave, quieting your conscious?

Great perspective on this, Ray Ortlund’s blog, My Church or The Kingdom:

“My passion isn’t to build up my church.  My passion is for God’s Kingdom.”

Ever heard someone say that?  I have.  It sounds noble, but it’s unbiblical and wrong.  It can even be destructive.

Suppose I said, “My passion isn’t to build up my marriage.  My passion is for Marriage.  I want the institution of Marriage to be revered again.  I’ll work for that.  I’ll pray for that.  I’ll sacrifice for that.  But don’t expect me to hunker down in the humble daily realities of building a great marriage with my wife Jani.  I’m aiming at something grander.”

If I said that, would you think, “Wow, Ray is so committed”?  Or would you wonder if I had lost my mind?

If you care about the Kingdom, good.  Now be the kind of person who can be counted on in your own church.  Join your church, pray for your church, tithe to your church, throw yourself into the life of your church with wholehearted passion.

We build great churches the same way we build great marriages — real commitment that makes a positive difference in practical ways.  And thus we build the Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

