The greatest man among all the people…

In Job 29 dink Job terug aan die goeie ou dae:

 7 “When I went to the gate of the city
       and took my seat in the public square,

 8 the young men saw me and stepped aside
       and the old men rose to their feet;

 9 the chief men refrained from speaking
       and covered their mouths with their hands;

 10 the voices of the nobles were hushed,
       and their tongues stuck to the roof of their mouths.

 11 Whoever heard me spoke well of me,
       and those who saw me commended me,…

My gedagtes soos ek dit lees is: “Dit maak sin. Job 1 vertel immers hoe indrukwekkende figuur hy was:

3 …he owned seven thousand sheep, three thousand camels, five hundred yoke of oxen and five hundred donkeys, and had a large number of servants. He was the greatest man among all the people of the East.

Die rede hoekom mense hom met soveel respek hanteer, is oor sy status, sy rykdom, sy faam…”.

Not! Dis nie die rede nie! Hier’s dit, sê Job:

12because I rescued the poor who cried for help,
       and the fatherless who had none to assist him.

 13 The man who was dying blessed me;
       I made the widow’s heart sing.

 14 I put on righteousness as my clothing;
       justice was my robe and my turban.

 15 I was eyes to the blind
       and feet to the lame.

 16 I was a father to the needy;
       I took up the case of the stranger.

 17 I broke the fangs of the wicked
       and snatched the victims from their teeth.

Dit laat my dink aan die “greatest Man”. Een wat soos Job, homself ontferm het oor die enkel ouer en die weeskind, die bedelaar en die uitlander, die kreupeles en die blindes. Een wat soos Job regverdigheid en geregtigheid soos klere gedra het. En een wat die tande van die onregverdige ingeslaan het en oppad terug is, om sy kop finaal te vergruis. 

Een voor wie die knieë nie net in die Ooste gaan buig nie, maar elke liewe knie, orals.

Soos Job. Net beter.

Leave a Reply

